DWI Attorneys in Hudson Valley
Strong Legal Representation for Complex Cases
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a crime, and a conviction carries severe penalties. If you have been charged with DWI, it is important to seek out an experienced attorney to advocate for you. The Hudson Valley DWI lawyers at Letterio, Shedden & Haug, LLP are here to help you. We will be with you every step of the way to help find the best possible resolution.
DWI charges are serious. Don’t wait to seek the legal representation you need. Call (845) 203-0997 to arrange a free consultation.
DWI Charges in New York
An individual’s coordination, judgment, and driving ability are impaired by the consumption of alcohol. The degree of impairment depends on the amount of alcohol a person drinks, the length of time in which the alcohol was consumed, body weight, gender, and how much food was eaten before and during the time when alcohol was consumed. New York has several types of DWI charges that use blood alcohol content (BAC) as evidence of intoxication.
DWI charges in New York include:
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) – A BAC of 0.08 or 0.04 for commercial motor vehicle drivers
- Aggravated DWI - 0.18 BAC or higher
- Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol (DWAI) – BAC above 0.05 but less than 0.07
- Driving While Ability Impaired by a Combined Influence of Drugs and Alcohol – driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs
- Chemical test refusal – Refusing to take a chemical test
- Zero tolerance law – A driver under the age of 21 with a BAC of 0.02 to 0.07
Any DWI conviction is serious and can have a significant and lasting impact on your life. For this reason, it is important to seek legal representation as soon as possible. Our Hudson Valley DWI attorneys have more than three decades of combined experience representing clients charged with DWI.
Penalties for DWI Convictions
The penalties for a DWI conviction may include fines, a loss of driving privileges, and even jail sentences. The amount of the fine, length of the prison sentence, and length of time your driver’s license may be revoked varies, depending on the specific charges and whether this was your first offense. For example, first-time offenders may be facing fines between $500 and $1,000, a driver’s license revocation for 6 months, and 1 year in jail. Subsequent offenses or more serious charges may result in more severe penalties.
If you have been charged with DWI, contact us at (845) 203-0997. We are always available to assist you, and our office is conveniently located in Beacon. We are here for clients throughout Orange County, Ulster County, and Putnam County.
Flexible To Work With Your Schedule
Compassionate & Empathetic Legal Team
Personalized Attention For Every Case
Aggressive Advocates For Every Client
Direct Access To Your Managing Attorney
Strategic Approach To Complex Cases